September 30, 2016   27 Elul 5776

Search Our Site :

Welcome to


The Jewish community of Topeka dates back to 1868, not long after the founding of the city. Of the many Jewish organizations and institutions in Topeka's history, the most important has been the synagogue. Two congregations founded in 1905 and 1915 joined together to build Temple Beth Sholom, Topeka's first synagogue, in 1920. In 1928, the synagogue became Reform, affiliating in 1935 with the Union of American Hebrew Congregations. Today, Temple Beth Sholom, with 125 families, is the center of Jewish life in Topeka. The Temple enjoys rabbinic leadership ( Rabbi Debbie Stiel ) and publishes a monthly bulletin.

Temple Beth Sholom is in the mainstream of Reform Judaism and is warm to Jewish tradition. Individuals from a broad range of Jewish backgrounds have found a place for themselves in our congregation. Through worship, we observe religious holidays and attempt to create ceremonies which highlight contributions to Jewish life, mark personal milestones, and bring members closer together. We join in Sabbath worship on Friday evenings

4200 SW Munson Avenue, Topeka, Kansas 66604, 785-272-6040

Adult Hebrew Classes Begin Again In September  

All adult Hebrew classes are taught by Frayna Scrinopskie in the Norma Jean Leff Board Room. The fee is $50 (plus the cost of any textbook) for the year of classes. 

The adult Hebrew classes will begin Sunday, September 11

9:30 - 10:30 am Beginning Hebrew students will first learn the alphabet and vowels and will progress to basic Hebrew prayers. This class will start with an introduction to the language of Biblical Hebrew. 

10:30 – 11:30 am Intermediate Hebrew students will learn to read, with some fluency, and to understand the Hebrew prayers that comprise Shabbat and holiday services. Some biblical texts may be read. This class will only meet twice a month. 

11:30 am - 12:30 pm Advanced Adult Hebrew 

This class is a continuation of the Advanced Hebrew class offered last year. Students in this class should have a basic understanding of Hebrew grammar and vocabulary. Biblical texts will be read. 

**Please note: when religious school is out, these adult education classes will not meet unless the teacher has said otherwise to the class.

Our Mission Statement  

The purpose of this Congregation shall be to worship God in accordance with the Faith of Judaism; to cultivate a love and understanding of the Jewish heritage through study; to stimulate fellowship in the Jewish community and the community at large; to strengthen the bond of loyalty with the Jewish people everywhere; and to promote the principles of righteousness in the world.  To further those purposes the Congregation will be a member of the Union for Reform Judaism.

Your Temple Beth Sholom Board of Directors  

Congratulations to the Officers and Board of Directors elected at the 2015 annual meeting:


President - Laurie McKinnon

Vice President - Alan Parker

Secretary - Abby Moore

Financial Secretary - Margot Brown

Treasurer - Alan Wisman

Past President - Jerry Frieman

Board Members

Dennis Dobson

Leora Forstein

Ezra Ginzburg

Patty Kahn

Doug Meyers

Marsha Pankewich-West

Julie Petruccelli-Treen

Richard Shapiro

Howard Schwartz

Upcoming Events  
Jewish World News  
What's New in Reform Judaism  

Send mail to webmaster with
questions or comments about this web site.
Union for Reform Judaism  Member of the
Union for
Reform Judaism